Lazy John

23 Mar

(click here for tab)

[gDGBD tuning]

Pretty good chance most folks interested in Old Time music have heard this one before. My arrangement is based mostly in the fiddling of Clyde Davenport (Jamestown, TN).  Fun “mountain” tune with plenty of good lyrics.  Here’r Mr. Davenport’s:

I got a gal, she lives by the road
Her eyes is crooked and her legs are bowed
But she sure is a lot of fun
Why don’t you go away lazy John

chorus
Lazy John, lazy John
Why don’t you get your day’s work all done
I’m in the shade, You’re in the sun
Why don’t you go away lazy John

I’m gonna dance Saturday night
We’re gonna dance til the broad daylight
[I’m a-gonna bring my little baby home
Why don’t you go away lazy John]

chorus

4 Responses to “Lazy John”

  1. Ryan 05/05/2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Man this really is a fun one. I’m a beginner/intermediate clawhammer player but started messing around with two finger this weekend. This is my first two-finger song! It’s a good song for me to learn how to sing with because he sings in between fiddling.

    Your blog’s awesome good luck with finals and come back and post again soon!

    • 2ftlbanjer 05/05/2010 at 10:40 pm #

      I’m glad you’re having fun with this one Ryan. Being able to switch back and forth between clawhammer & 2-finger helps keep things fresh on the journey – and chicks dig it! Well…my chick does anyway. I recommend giving “Reuben” a try for a similar singing/playing experience in a different tuning. Thanks for dropping by and for the kind words. I’ve got a few “new” ones up my sleeve so come back soon. -Sean

  2. Dick W. 07/01/2012 at 3:43 am #

    Started working on this one today. Seems like a good “beginner” level tune. Having fun learning the song. Not up to speed yet.– it’s great having the mp3 recording to hear what it will sound like when I get there. Thanks for the work you put into this.

  3. Dick W. 07/02/2012 at 2:59 pm #

    Was having trouble making a quick move in the 5th measure (first measure of part B) from first to the fifth fret (2nd string) and decided to move to the 2nd fret, 1st string (to substitute for 5th fret, 2nd string). Much easier for this beginner. Then the next note is a pull-off to the open (1st) string. Again, easier and quicker for me.

Leave a Reply

